Facebook hoaxes have come and gone, and there’s yet another one running around the popular social network that you should avoid sharing. This hoax claims that by posting the text as a status, Facebook is forbidden to share your information, such as posts, photos and private data. The status can very in specifics, but it usually goes something like this:

“Better safe than sorry. As of September 28th, 2015 at 6:15 am (or whatever other date you may see) Eastern standard time, I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement atleast once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates.

ADVERTISEMENT

This, of course, is false. It isn’t the first time something like this comes out, and it probably won’t be the last. No matter what you post on your Facebook profile, these are the real term and conditions of using Facebook, terms you agreed to the moment you created your profile. Always remember, if your post is labeled as ‘Public,’ anyone on the Internet can see it, and yes, even Facebook can use it however they choose. Instead of reposting a hoax like this, make sure your posts are marked as you see fit – Public, Friends, or Only Me – before publishing like shown below.

If you happen to see someone else share these messages, be sure to let them know they are fake!