Hidden Snapchat features

Buried deep in the realms of the Snap world are hidden Snapchat features you probably knew nothing about

Hidden Snapchat features are always exciting to find out about. Not only does it bring out the rebel in you, it gives you many fun things to do, too.

Ever felt so attached to a lens or filter that you find yourself praying everyday that they would stay on your app — often finding yourself holding your breath as you scan the lenses loading on the app?

ADVERTISEMENT

Guess what? You’re not alone.

So here are a few hidden Snapchat features that should help you get a good night’s sleep, and put all of those Snapchat worries of yours to rest.

Past lenses or filters

Already see where we’re getting at?

It will just keep getting better.

Snapchat is constantly trying to innovate its services in order to prevent Snapchatters from straying away from the app, and to get them to keep on enjoying the app.

The only downside to this otherwise marvelous idea, however, is that the users who enjoy a certain lens or two on the app is constantly in risk of losing their one favorite thing.

So it’s good to know that the good old turn-back-the-time trick works wonders just fine even on Snapchat.

All users would have to do is to turn back time — literally, on their cellphone’s time and date settings — and there you go. That Snapchat lens that was once gone too soon is now back in your arms, possibly infinitely..

Two Filters, One Photo

Ever dreamt of not having to choose between two of your favorite filters? Well, dream no more.

Because all it’s going to take to make that dream come true is two of your fingers and a few good swipes.

First, take a photo like you normally would. Then, swipe to choose a filter as you normally would. Then, with one finger, hold down the screen. Quickly swipe on it with another.

This should allow you to choose another filter on top of the other.

Didn’t work the first time? Give it a few more tries. This isn’t something that’s easy to do, but it sure is something that can be done.

Friend Emoji

Friend Emoji is just one of the many hidden Snapchat features that not many Snapchatters really know about. And because it’s a relatively unknown feature not many take advantage of it.

But if you are one to be called a Snapchat expert, you better head down to the Settings menu of your Snap app, scroll down to the part that says Additional Services, and find the part that says Friend Emoji. There you’ll find everything there is to know about this cute little feature.

ADVERTISEMENT

Rename your friend

Just because you can’t rename your friend in real life (well, at least not legally), doesn’t mean you can’t rename them on your Snap.

Simply tap and hold your friend’s name from anywhere in the app and this should give you the option to do a few things — like sending your friend a snap, viewing his Snap code, and yes, editing his name, too.

Security

Security isn’t really much of a concern for most users of Snapchat. But the fact that security threat is real and that it exists everywhere on the the internet is actually reason enough for everyone to take as much precaution as they possibly can — and Snapchat agrees with just that, so the company came up with a two-step verification process.

What this feature does is that it secures your account in such a way that you will get notifications of every login attempt being made from another device, and that the only way for these log ins to go through would be by entering a verification code sent directly to your phone number.

To activate this feature, simply go to Settings, and then select the part that says Login verification, and then set it up from there.

You can also opt to change the phone number associated with your account from here.

Add Nearby

This is probably one of the coolest hidden Snapchat features and it is exactly what you think it is: it lets you add random people who happen to be in the same room as you are — although not without their permission. To take advantage of this feature, simply go to the option that says Add Friends, and then select the part that says Add Nearby.

Travel mode

Data is no cheap thing, so it’s actually a good thing that the people behind Snapchat has got your back on this by introducing a travel mode feature.

Under this feature, Snapchat leaves it up to you if you want to automatically download messages or stories instead of automatically downloading them without even asking you.

To activate this feature, simply go to the Settings on the app, select the part that says Additional Services, and then hit Manage.

Do you have any more hidden Snapchat features that you’d like to share? Please do let us know in the comments below!